DAY 1

I completed DAY 1 of my transformation and didn’t pass out! (Almost, though……). Today was leg day, and this is how I’m feeling right now….:

leg day

As a distance runner, my leg day has always consisted of 8+ mile runs. I’ve lifted before, but it was always for maintenance/strength rather than toning. My first year of college I was a D1 athlete, and although I had great access to top trainers, it was still strength-focused. I’m excited to start my first toning plan!

Interested in what I did that has me dying as I walk? Here’s my WOD (I promise I don’t do crossfit):

2 Miles @goal race pace

  • 7:55 splits, which is just slightly above my ultimate goal race pace (7:42.00), but below my expected race pace (which is 8:00.42)

Barbell Squat

  • Muscle Targeted: Quads
  • Exercise Type: Strength
  • Equipment Type: Barbell
  • 5 sets of 12 reps: total of 60

Dumbbell Rear Lunge

  • Muscle Targeted: Quads
  • Exercise Type: Strength
  • Equipment Type: Barbell (Accidentally misread and used a Barbell instead of a Dumbell!)
  • 4 sets of 12 on each side: total of 96

Single Leg Box Squat

  • Muscle Targeted: Quads
  • Exercise Type: Strength
  • Equipment Type: I used a bench!
  • 4 sets of 12 on each side

Plank With Band Row

*This is meant to be done with a partner, but since I don’t have one, I looped the band around a pole on a machine and it worked just as well!

  • Muscle Targeted: Middle Back
  • Exercise Type: Strength
  • Equipment Type: Band, Exercise Mat
  • 3 sets of 10 on each side

Leg Raises

  • Muscle Targeted: Abs
  • Exercise Type: Strength
  • Equipment Type: Your body!

And finally, everyone’s favorite…. Russian Twists

  • Muscle Targeted: Abs
  • Exercise Type: Strength
  • Equipment Type: Your body! And a medicine ball (I used 5 lbs, definitely could’ve done more.)

*Ran out of time, so later tonight after class I’ll be finishing up another 2 mile run. If I can stay awake that long….

 

Seems easy, right? Yeah, I thought so too, until I wanted to pass out mid-lunges. Keep in mind I’m your typical weak runner, so this is probably harder for me than it is for others who have more strength. Here’s a before pic:

IMG_20160229_113000.jpg

I’m new to this whole “progress pic” thing, so I’m thinking I’ll prob post a progress pic every Monday. Is that reasonable, or is that too much? Anyway, day 1 down, 41 days to go! Hope some of you will join me!

Also, I stumbled upon this article today. I already knew what 5lbs muscle looks like compared to fat, but that pic NEVER gets old for me. Hope you all enjoy that article as much as I do, it’s quite the inspiration!

Well, it’s time for me to leave work and head out to 5 hours of class (as if Mondays already weren’t bad enough). Happy Monday/Leap Day running! Are any of you ladies proposing to your significant other today, Irish style?

 

 

 

One thought on “DAY 1”

  1. Hi DreamingBig – from your “About” page, you seem like a well-rounded and interesting human 🙂 Please take good care of your body – so many runners end up with injuries.
    Also, thank you for your interest and deciding to follow Beauty Along the Road.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

